Posted at 11 a.m., March 25, 2016

Equestiran reaches second place in zone 8

Rider makes first in region

Laramie County Community College’s equestrian team have galloped their way to second place in the zone 8 region 5 of the Intercollegiate Horse Shows Association.

“This has been one of my stronger teams in the nine years I have coached at LCCC,” said Lanae McDonald, coach of the equestrian team. “We have shown strong performances with all of our players.”

Currently behind University of Nebraska-Lincoln for first place in region, McDonald firmly believes that her team has put themselves in a position to represent well at the regionals. “When you think about the schools in the region, most of them are universities. I feel very comfortable in the position we are in to win as a team and individually.”

Much of the team’s success can be credited to the individual success. Four players from both hunt and western competitions have already qualified for region with a few more putting themselves in positions to represent the Golden Eagles at regionals. Shelby Diede is currently first place in region in western competitions and will lead the team through the back end of their schedule.

“We hope the other girls will qualified for regions and represent our team on our home turf as a community college against the other universities; that shows how strong this year’s team is,” said McDonald.

During their most recent contest with the University of Nebraska-Lincoln on February 5, LCCC placed 2nd as a team for both shows. LCCC finished the season as reserve high point team in the region. Open rider, Shelby Diede was the reserve high point rider during the contest and also finished the seaon with the reserve high point rider in the region.

Five riders have qualified for regionals. They are Shelby Diede, Chelsea McLeod, Eleanor Pontoriero, Taylor Wolken and Troy Wright.

Individaul results from the February 5 competition:

The equestrian team will be the host of this year’s regionals, February 27 and 28 at Laramie County Community College.