Posted at 5 p.m. Nov. 9, 2016

New LCCC board members elected

Bob Salazar Don Erickson Wendy Soto Jess Ketcham

Don Erickson was re-elected while Wendy Soto, Jess E. Ketcham and Bob Salazar were elected for the Laramie County Community College Board of Trustees on Nov. 8.

Erickson won with 13,874 votes or 13.61 percent. Soto came in second with 12,873 votes or 12.62 percent. Jess E. Ketcham came in third with 12,040 votes or 11.81 percent. Bob Salazar took the fourth position with 10,823 votes or 10.61 percent, barely defeating Jennifer Peterson who received 10,088 votes or 9.89 percent.

Erickson originally came to Cheyenne in the 1960s to be the state health educator. He was mayor of Cheyenne from 1977-1989. He has also served on numerous health boards throughout the years.

Soto is a fourth-generation Wyoming native. She is a charter graduate of the LCCC paralegal program in 1989 and has been attending Board of Trustee meetings since last spring to increase her understanding of the proceedings.

Ketcham is a fifth-generation Laramie County resident. He graduated from Cheyenne East High, attended LCCC for agriculture then transferred to the University of Wyoming where he earned a bachelor’s in agricultural business. He is also the Assistant Parades Committee chairman for Cheyenne Frontier Days.

Salazar also went to LCCC for agriculture then transferred to UW where he earned a bachelor’s in agricultural business. He spent 24 years in defense and telecommunications and spent 14 years as a math and statistics instructor for Laramie County School District No. 1. He was also an adjunct instructor at LCCC.

In other LCCC-related election news, LCCC Athletics Director Scott Noble lost a close bid for Laramie County School District No. 1 School Board. Tim Bolin came in first with 11,9333 votes or 17.01 percent, Lynn A. Storey-Huyla came in second with 11,746 votes or 16.74 percent, Nate Breen took third with 11,159 votes or 16.90 percent and Noble had 10,976 votes or 15.64 percent.

In Senate District No. 4, LCCC legal representative Tara Nethercott, a Republican, won her bid for the seat against Democrat Rep. Ken Esquibel. Nethercott took 1,234 votes compared to Esquibel’s 614 votes.


Erickson, Ketcham, Soto, Salazar lead board votes

Meet the trustee candidates

Candidates offer two-cents on budget crunch