LCCC Wingspan nominated for ACP Pacemaker award, finalist for design of the year

Laramie County Community College’s student newspaper, Wingspan, is a finalist for the nation’s highest college student press award.

Ten two-year colleges will compete for the 84th annual Associated Collegiate Press Pacemaker, considered the Pulitzer Prize of student media, at ACP’s national convention in Orlando Oct. 26-30. The contest is co-sponsored by the Newspaper Association of America Foundation and was judged by professional journalists in the Washington, D.C., area.

The other two-year college finalists were Mesa (Ariz.) Community College; Southwestern College, Chula Vista, Calif.; Contra Costa College, San Pablo, Calif.; Santa Ana College, Santa Ana, Calif.; Georgia Perimeter College, Clarkson, Ga.; North Idaho College, Coeur d’Alene, Idaho; Seward County Community College, Liberal, Kan.; Eastfield College, Mesquite, Texas; and Madison Area Technical College, Madison, Wis.

In addition, staff members are finalists for three individual awards, the most for which Wingspan has been nominated in one contest year. Two-year and four-year college nominees of individual awards competed with one another.

Jeffrey Pallak, currently editor of Wingspan Online and one of five finalists for illustration of the year, created an illustration about Twitter for his Wingspan “Eagle Web” column. He is in competition with UCLA, Indiana University, Michigan State University and the Savannah College of Art and Design. The six categories of the Design of the Year competition attracted 473 entries.

Wingspan’s former sports editor, Cody Tucker, who is now sports editor for the Northern Wyoming Daily News, took honorable mention in sports writing for his sports feature called “Bulls, broncs and buckles” about LCCC bull rider Loncey Johnson.

Finally, the Wingspan staff took honorable mention for its editorial about student government online elections called “You have to travel nearly to the moon to vote for ASG senators.”

The writing portion of the contest attracted 569 entries in five categories and was judged by the Deadline Club, the Society of Professional Journalists’ New York City chapter.

Editors for the contest year were Seneca Riggins, who is now editor of the University of Wyoming’s Branding Iron; Hannah Wheeler, now a UW student working in the university’s public relations department; and Will Hebert, current Wingspan editor.

Faculty advisers are Rosalind Schliske and J.L. O’Brien.