Presidential search firm thins out candidates

By Susann Robbins

The Laramie County Community College presidential search committee and Cizek Associates Inc. have narrowed the pool for permanent president to five to eight applicants.

Carol Merrell, LCCC Board of Trustees’ secretary, said the committee will conduct “airport interviews” Oct. 2–3 in Denver.

During the week of Oct. 24, the remaining three to five candidates will tour the campus and participate in open forums, Merrell said.

The board of trustees will then meet with the candidates privately in the evening. According to a presidential search timeline, it is hoped the new president will be chosen by Nov. 30. This will give the interim president, Dr. Miles LaRowe, the time to help him or her transition into the new position, and the new president will actively take over in the spring 2012 semester in January.

The presidential search committee hired Cizek Associates Inc. (CAI), of Phoenix, Ariz., a nationally recognized executive search and assessment firm founded by Marti Cizek in 1992. In a letter from CAI to the board of trustees, the members of this firm are very involved in their community and hold memberships on relevant associations. Cizek Associates Inc. contracted with LCCC at approximately $35,000 to $40,000 as long as the timeline is kept.

Firm identifies characteristics of ideal president

In line with CAI’s application letter, the firm concentrates on three essential areas of characteristics of the candidates:

Merrell and Kilty both agreed that these in conjunction with the requirements from the search committee and student input have lead to the presidential profile/characteristics of the ideal candidate.

Examples of characteristics are strong, visionary leader; positive and dynamic human relations skills; multi-campus leadership experience; technological savvy, etc. The full list is available on the LCCC webpage for the presidential search.

The presidential search committee consists of the following: LCCC trustee Dr. Kevin Kilty; LCCC trustee Carol Merrell; interim president, Dr. Miles LaRowe; community member, Miriam Abernathy; the Associated Student Government president, Alex Barker; the Faculty Senate president, Jeff Shmidl; College Council’s chairwoman, Jodi Weppner, and the Educational Staff Services Council president, Kevin Yarbrough.