Posted at 1 p.m., Nov. 12, 2013

Photo by David M. Orr

You reap what you sow:
Wingspan adviser Rosalind Schliske displays her award. From left, Brooke A. Rogers, managing editor; Kasey M. Orr, co-editor; Daniel Herring, online editor; Mandy Neely, co-editor; Schliske and J.L. O’Brien, faculty adviser.

College instructor accepts advising award

NEW ORLEANS—Laramie County Community College’s instructor of mass media has been honored with the prestigious College Media Association’s 2013 Distinguished Two-Year Newspaper Adviser Award, the highest award given to college media advisers in the nation.

Rosalind Routt Schliske, who is also the longest serving instructor at LCCC, is the first two- or four-year adviser in Colorado, New Mexico, Utah, Montana or Wyoming to win this national award in the 50-plus history of the organization. She has also taught journalism in Wyoming longer than any other high school, college or university in the history of the state.

Since 1976, Schliske has given her students a place to feel valued, accepted and challenged, said Lesley Rowbal, a former student.

Many of Schliske’s former students have gone on to be highly successful in their respective fields.

As the longtime adviser of the student-run LCCC newspaper Wingspan, Schliske said the publication has won many awards and is nationally recognized as one of the few community college newspapers that can compete with four-year colleges and universities. In addition to Wingspan Online, the second Wyoming publication to have a website in 1995, Wingspan’s brand now includes Channel 11.

The award was presented to Schliske at the Associated Collegiate Press/College Media Association convention in New Orleans on Oct. 25.

Schliske was editor-in-chief of the Daily Skiff at Texas Christian University where she earned a bachelor’s degree in English and journalism. She earned her master’s degree in journalism from the University of Wyoming.

Schliske was news editor of the Wyoming Eagle and as a major in the Wyoming Army National Guard was commander of the 197th Public Affairs Detachment. She has served as president of the Wyoming chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists and was the first runner-up in the National Federation of Press Women’s communicator of achievement in 1999.